Wanted: Guest Posters for ME/CFS and FMS Awareness Week

May 9th-15th is ME/CFS (Myalgic Encaphalomyelitis) Awareness Week, with the 12th being the international day for ME/CFS (Florence Nightingale was believed to have ME/CFS, May 12th being her birthday). If you’ve been following my blog you would probably know that I suffer from M.E. I was diagnosed back in 2005, so I’m in my 7th year with it.

If you have ME/CFS or some other neuro-immune, energy sucking illness, or just want to know the meat of this post then I suggest skipping down to the bolded area. The next part is more about my behaviour with awareness week.

I’ll be honest, I’m not one to usually do much for awareness days (I also have Type 1 Diabetes and I barely mention it), my advocacy has now been simplified to educating, or making people aware, when I come across them. Mostly prompted by ignorant comments or attitudes. It’s probably not the best way to go seeing as that reaction is predominately born from frustration and anger, but I make it work for me.

Seriously though, I think I’m far more relaxed about it compared to what I used to be, that is educating people, but my past experience has brought about a reluctance to volunteer information. Especially if I’m not sure it’s going to do anything (sometimes it doesn’t and not everyone enjoys feeling like they’re talking to a brick wall). Add on to that the problem presented with having only a vague sense of what time of year it currently is and lack of spoons, well it all makes for a very uneventful Awareness week from my end.

Trying Something New

When it comes to ME/CFS Awareness week, I’m going to be trying something new, and I’d like others to participate with me.

What: Guest Posts. This year I’m getting a jump on the event and would like to open up my blog to others either with ME/CFS or those who are a support/carer of someone with ME/CFS (including friends and family) to spread awareness, educate, share their experiences, their ME/CFS inspired art and writings, or anything else that can be thought of that has to do with ME/CFS or having ME/CFS.

When: 9th-15th of May, each day. If there is enough interest I’ll extend the content going up till after the 15th, all depending on when it runs out basically.

How: If you’re interested you can contact me via the following form by May 1st at the latest. Just let me know what idea you have and we can go from there.

More Info: If you’re wondering how I will be doing the posts – I’d be happy for you to include a blurb about yourself at the end of your post with links to where people can find you (such as your blog, website, FB page, YouTube channel, Twitter account). As for content, it’s up to you how much you want (and of course spoons) to put into it, including providing images, links, clips, the sorts of things that make a post more than what it is. The main point is doing what you can.

One thought on “Wanted: Guest Posters for ME/CFS and FMS Awareness Week

Leave a Reply

