Bonnie Sparks Writes

…fiction and discusses editing, writing, mental illness, chronic conditions, bunnies, food, fitness, and geeky topics.

Movies: Fast Five

Leave a comment

It’s my first post and I thought rather than crap on about myself and why I’m blogging, something of which I can do at any time and have done on too many blogs, instead it would be best to post about one of my favourite movie franchises and guilty pleasures.

I saw the movie Fast Five, aka Fast and Furious Five, recently. I’ve been noting the bad reviews and ratings, but I have to tell you, I really did enjoy it. I don’t know about newbies to the franchise, but for a fan I think they did a great job to keep followers of the series happy. The only problem I had with it is that the racing is minimal, it’s more about the action and the crime now, but if you’re watching it after the last movie that shouldn’t really surprise you.

It was great seeing some of the original cast from the first film together with key characters from the other movies. I never really liked Paul Walker (plays Brian O’Connor), at least not in the beginning, but I’ve found myself warming to him over the course of Fast and Furious, so by the fifth one I was finally enjoying his character. My original favourites of the bunch out of the whole series are Dom (Vin Diesel), Lettie (Michelle Rodriguez), and Han (Sung Kang). While Lettie isn’t in this one, I love that Han was brought into it with a bigger role, and of course Dom is always leaving a big impression on the screen. At least for me. In these sorts of films. Yes, I admit it, I’m a Diesel fan.

I was a bit iffy about Dwayne Johnson – The Rock – being introduced into the franchise, but I think he did a pretty good job playing his hard arse cop role. It’ll be interesting to see what happens with the next one (of course there’s a next one, there just had to be!), whose roles are reprised (I’m definitely putting my money on The Rock and Eva Mendes – Fuentes from 2 Fast 2 Furious. I’m thinking Kang and Gal Gadot – Gisele in Fast Five and Fast and Furious – will be coming back as well), and if that will finally be the last part in the whole story or not. I’m thinking if it’s going the way I’m suspecting, with those characters I’ve mentioned reprising their roles, then it would finish up the whole series to tie Tokyo Drift into the others. Until the very end of Tokyo Drift, that movie has always been the odd one out, there’s nothing to really tie it into the storyline except for the racing and the full title (Fast and Furious: Tokyo Drift). If the next film goes in a particular direction it will join it up and complete that arc without really needing another film.

If you’re a little confused, especially if you aren’t a fan of the series or are new to it, the series hasn’t been filmed in order of the story. It can be a little confusing even if you are a fan so here is the proper story order;

  1. The Fast and The Furious
  2. 2 Fast, 2 Furious
  3. Fast and Furious
  4. Fast Five
  5. Tokyo Drift

What I Love About The Series: Fast and Furious

I’m not a revhead or even a big car fan. I do love cars at times, but those are classics and about the aesthetics, not what’s under the hood. In fact, my knowledge about the inner workings of cars is dismal to non-existent and I also can’t drive!

Not to mention that when it comes to speeding, fast moving vehicles freak me out. I will avoid getting in the car with speed demons, I am not a dare devil, or an adrenaline junkie. I’ll admit I’ve been on one roller-coaster ride in my whole life and practically screamed with my  head down the whole way. I have been stuck in cars with people who drove way too fast and I never went near them again. My idea of joyful times involve going somewhere at a normal human pace that doesn’t have a higher rate of fatality.

If you want to go to a fair or carnival and go on the rides, unless it’s a ghost train or a merry-go-round, I am not the person to take with you. I’m sure you don’t need more for me to convince you I’m not an adrenaline junkie and I prefer taking the slow and safe road.

The funny thing is, even though I’m not going to be the ride-buddy type of friend, I’ll go to a car show. I may get a little pissed off about how many models are there letting their bits hang out for all to see because their bits are scrawny as thanks to starving themselves to fit an unhealthy image, but I will still appreciate the cars and the models. I know I’m contradicting myself, but what can I say? I’m a bisexual woman who is not above perving with my partner who is of the same persuasion. Besides if you’re going to walk around half naked can you blame people for looking (Of course if you look seedy and skanky, I’ll try to look the other way, even if I accept whatever makes you happy)?

I digress… I also loved car games as I was growing up, in my teens, and all the way through to my early twenties. I don’t play them now because I have a problem with adrenaline thanks to my neuro-immune disease, but some of my favourite games include the Need For Speed Underground series.

I guess you could say that I’m a sucker for action that involves gorgeous looking cars, car racing, music, scantily clad women (when they aren’t starving themselves), and a bit of attitude (unless it’s over the top arrogance)! Just because I’m a women with a brain and these sorts of movies are geared towards testosterone fuelled young men, doesn’t mean I can’t enjoy them too.

Author: Bonnie

Between a blogging addiction, hosting reading challenges, reviewing, writing novels, and overcoming a neuro-immune disease, Bonnie attempts to do as many awesome things as she can and has a good dose of daily bunny cuddles. She resides in Western Sydney with her rabbit, Winston.

Leave a Reply

