Bonnie Sparks Writes

…fiction and discusses editing, writing, mental illness, chronic conditions, bunnies, food, fitness, and geeky topics.

Random Magic Tour and ME/CFS/FM Awareness Day

Leave a comment

I have news!

First for the serious news.

International ME/CFS and FM Awareness Day – May 12th

The 12th of May (tomorrow here in Australia) is the above mentioned – Myalgic Encephalomyelitis (also unfortunately named Chronic Fatigue Syndrome – urgh) and Fibromyalgia Awareness day – and as a way to participate in spreading awareness of the two with the little energy I have, I’m going to be posting sporadically about them throughout the day on my FaceBook page. These posts will include my thoughts on it, links to what they are, and whatever else I feel is relevant.

Others are welcome to come and post links or their thoughts on ME and FM, share what they’re doing for the day, and any information they think will be relevant for others in regards to these illnesses.

Are you wondering what you can do besides that and what colours represent these illnesses?

If you’re a t-shirt wearing, ribbon sporting, badge buying support kind of person then you should know that blue (ME) and purple (FM) are the colours to be wearing.

I recommend doing a search for your local or state’s ME and FM Societies because they’ll usually either have an event, can give you more information about events, or have something to sell you like badges, and stickers, and pins.

On Twitter

One of the reasons I’m posting about all this on FaceBook is because there is an event to get ME and FM trending on Twitter (run by @FibroDuck), a great way to get awareness for it, and I also have FB hooked up to Twitter. If you’re on Twitter, it would be awesome if you could tweet about it including the hashtags #ME #mecfs #FM #Fibro (capitals are important). If you don’t have many spoons (something I’ll be posting tomorrow for those who have no idea what I’m on about), just a few tweets spread throughout the day would be enough or telling others to do it, but don’t feel bad if you can’t. Take care of yourself!

Onto fun news…

Random Magic Tour: Pirates!

I’ve been asked to join in with the Random Magic Tour! Random Magic is a book and every so often there is a tour to coincide. This one is connected with Pirates! Arrr me Hearties! (I had to ok, I just had to).

I’m all excited. I’m also all very new to this. I have joined another blog tour, but that one hasn’t started yet, so technically this is my very first one and I barely know what I’m doing, but I figure you have to learn some time and going by the seat of your pants is probably the best way for it to really sink in. For me.

Yes, yes, enough yapping Bonnie and more explaining!

  • The Book – Random Magic
  • When – May 10-30, 2011 – so now basically and this is the schedule.
  • When I’m On – 24th of May! On my other blog – Bookish Ardour – I haven’t posted about it yet, but I’m working on it (everything had to be finalised, I’m a last minute entry so I kind of stuffed up the schedule…)
  • Giveaways and Fun Stuff – Rum and Plunder! Check this out to see what it’s all about, there’s a treasure hunt and giveaways.

This is me on the 24th, keep an eye out for it (I recommend subscribing to the blog, if you want to keep on top of it)

Bookish Ardour
Review
Feature: By Land or Sea (Vintage maps)
Feature: Pirate Lairs: Tortuga, Port Royal,
New Providence and the Brethren of the Coast

That’s all for now, but I’ll be posting more about the last part over at Bookish Ardour either this afternoon or tomorrow (depending on energy levels) and I hope to see some people joining in with Awareness Day tomorrow!

Author: Bonnie

Between a blogging addiction, hosting reading challenges, reviewing, writing novels, and overcoming a neuro-immune disease, Bonnie attempts to do as many awesome things as she can and has a good dose of daily bunny cuddles. She resides in Western Sydney with her rabbit, Winston.

Leave a Reply

