Bonnie Sparks Writes

…fiction and discusses editing, writing, mental illness, chronic conditions, bunnies, food, fitness, and geeky topics.

Publishing: Self Vs Commercial Part II

Leave a comment

My last post about publishing and thoughts on stigma, was about the stereotype that has to do with Indie authors being rude and unprofessional. Lets scoff at that misconception for a moment. Go on, scoff with me.

Now we got that out of the way, what else is there that is considered a stereotype and helps feed the stigma that comes with self publishing?

  • If you’re self published it’s because no publishing house would pick up your manuscript.

I find this to be an interesting one, because unless you know first hand by the writer telling you what their history is with their manuscript(s), most of this idea is born from speculation. Somewhere along the line the idea of self published novels being so because of rejection wasn’t only born, but deeply rooted into societies’ self conscience when it comes to views of Indie authors.

Granted, at some point this might have been the case, akin to when authors were only allowed to have one novel published a year (Ha! Look at the industry now!), but I don’t see how this is relevant at present. I’m not going to act as if I know everything about it, because I don’t, but from my interactions with others and learning from what I’ve been observing, I think self publishing is becoming a definite choice and is already for a lot of writers.

Choice is a wonderful option to have, but there are also a lot of problems with self publishing, it doesn’t mean it is easier. As a choice between the two it all has to do with what suits the writer themselves, not what others think or how much money comes from it.

When it comes down to it, it should be about the story itself and whether you enjoy reading it. It shouldn’t be about what process it has gone through and who represents it. In my opinion, and I’m not saying this because I’m considering self-publishing myself (I’m also considering commercial aswell), but to decide on a piece of work because of where it has come from is going beyond judging a book by its cover and basically shallow. If you decide against a novel because of how it is published, don’t you think that’s a little pretentious? Or do you have reasons that justify your choices? Let me know, share your opinion, I would love to know what other’s thoughts are on this. Especially those who do choose based on the mode of publishing.

Author: Bonnie

Between a blogging addiction, hosting reading challenges, reviewing, writing novels, and overcoming a neuro-immune disease, Bonnie attempts to do as many awesome things as she can and has a good dose of daily bunny cuddles. She resides in Western Sydney with her rabbit, Winston.

Leave a Reply

