Bonnie Sparks Writes

…fiction and discusses editing, writing, mental illness, chronic conditions, bunnies, food, fitness, and geeky topics.

The Misbehavings of a Defunct Toaster

Leave a comment

Yesterday I woke up to a power outage. They seem to be common in my area so my reaction was a mix of ‘oh again?’ and ‘don’t mess with my internet!’ I have developed the habit of checking my email when I’m still in bed via my phone, a bad habit, but one I haven’t been able to shake. Plus there’s the fun bonus of relying on the internet for so much, including running my book website, keeping in contact with all of my book club members, and staying in touch with those friends who live a million miles away and it would cost too much to call on a landline.

While I was staving off the panic and anxiety that comes with lack of internet and the uncertainty of when it will be back, I can usually go a few hours before I really begin to worry about it, a small part of me was screaming ‘FREEDOM!’ Even with the fact of not being able to call out if there was an emergency because my landline phone depends on a power plug, my mobile phone would eventually die because I couldn’t charge it, my laptop would die as well from not being charged, I couldn’t play the Xbox anymore, after awhile I wouldn’t be able to continue reading the book I was in the middle of because it’s on an eReader, and the food in my refrigerator would slowly melt and go off, a small part of me was deeply pleased and celebrating the lack of power.

Why?

Because we are so consumed by technology, being distracted, never having a peaceful quiet because of all the static noise around us and while I love the internet and all the good things it entails, love playing my Xbox, panic at the thought of not having my laptop to type up my stories on, and appreciate my eReader, the main thing I only cared about was the food and my insulin in the fridge. For a creature that can be so against change, human beings are one of the most adaptive creatures to grace this Earth, and we can live without all of these fun pieces of technology. We just don’t want to. Don’t get me wrong, technology has its uses and there are some beautiful things happening in this world because of it, but certain areas of technology are more of an excuse for people to shut off rather than dealing with the world.

My favourite aspect of a power outage is the quiet that comes with it. There’s no continuous hum in the background from some machine and when the power goes out I feel as if I can tell something was messing with my brainwaves and natural energy, something that shouldn’t have been in the first place.

Sometime after lunch the culprit causing the lack of power was discovered. It was a toaster that had had enough and decided to take everything out with it. Thanks toaster.

At the same time a feeling of relief hit me when the power came back on, a part of me wanted to keep technology at bay, but of course it slowly got its claws back in again, never having left my subconscious to begin with, and the small part of my being shrugged its shoulders, giving in and biding its time until our next power outage.

Author: Bonnie

Between a blogging addiction, hosting reading challenges, reviewing, writing novels, and overcoming a neuro-immune disease, Bonnie attempts to do as many awesome things as she can and has a good dose of daily bunny cuddles. She resides in Western Sydney with her rabbit, Winston.

Leave a Reply

