Bonnie Sparks Writes

…fiction and discusses editing, writing, mental illness, chronic conditions, bunnies, food, fitness, and geeky topics.

Reading Challenges 2012

Leave a comment

I have been an AWOL blogger over here! I know I have and I probably still will be for a little while, but I finally got some sleep and some much needed rest after sleep deprivation so I’ve been able to put together my sign up post for reading challenges. Hopefully I’ll have a few more updates in the next couple of weeks.

Reading Challenges for 2012

I am a reading challenge addict and have been hosting several since the end of 2010. Seeing as I’m hosting, but next year will be the year of writing books instead of reading them, I’m taking part on a minimal level. I figure a hostess of challenges should be partaking in their own ones right?

Because of the year of writing coming up I will be aiming for the minimum of five in each one with a total of twenty five from these all together. I usually read anywhere between fifty to one hundred and ten books a year, but I’m cutting right down so it’s not my focus. I know writers should read, read, read, but I have a horrible time of trying to read one story while writing something else. I guess my compartmentalisation skills in that area are pretty much redundant. Hence the low numbers.

Several of these will be crossing over too so I might not even reach twenty five (we’ll see about that) and I’m aiming to read as many of the ones across the challenges from my own shelf. I have way to many TBRs in my personal library.

The Dystopia Challenge

The description pretty much goes without saying doesn’t it? But it also accepts post apocalyptic and ecotopian because they can cross over and merge so much.

Level: Asocial

  1. Battle Royale By Koushun Takami
  2. The Lord of The Flies by William Golding
  3. We by Yevgeny Zamyatin
  4. Delirium by Lauren Oliver
  5. Momentum by Saci Lloyd

Free Reads

Free Reads are basically any unread books in your personal library that you’ve received for free. In the last year I’ve acquired quite a lot of freebies from give-aways and review requests, and of course there’s always the books people give you as gifts and hand-me-downs, which can go unread. Free Reads is all about catching up, say an Off The Shelf! challenge, but with more specification.

Level: For Me?

  1. Momentum by Saci Lloyd
  2. Bruised by Siobhan Parkinson
  3. Inside Out by Maria V. Snyder
  4. He’s After Me by Chris Higgins
  5. Hellship by Philip Palmer

Go Indie

Go Indie is all about those novels by self-published and independent publishers. I guess you could say I’m an advocate in a sense when it comes to Indie authors and even though I’ve read more Indie this year than I ever have, I would still like to have some motivation to read it because most of the Indie I’ve read has been via request.

Level: Tentative

  1. The Antithesis by Terra Whiteman
  2. A Decent Ransom by Ivana Hruba
  3. I Am Become Death by Julio Angel Ortiz
  4. Bear’s Heart by Corie Weaver
  5. Perfect Copy by Judith Gaines

Get Steampunked! 

Steampunk; what’s not to love about it? This is one of the challenges carried on from this year and it revolves around reading Steampunk, but also includes gaslight fantasy. I did this challenge this year, but I wasn’t able to read that much (So far I’ve mostly bombed when it comes to finishing reading challenges) and would like to try reading more of the genre. I love Steampunk, but usually more with fashion, gadgets, arts, and ideals, rather than in books, so I’m still trying to make up my mind about it.

Level: Geared

  1. Soulless by Gail Carriger
  2. Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld
  3. The Difference Engine by William Gibson
  4. Paris in The Twentieth Century by Jules Verne
  5. The Boneshaker by Cherie Priest

Off The Shelf!

A lot of readers will understand when I say my TBR shelf from my personal library has gotten away from me. In fact, I’ve been attempting to bring it down for years as I have the habit of buying new books when the last ones have gone unread! Off The Shelf is all about getting those unread books on your shelf and turning them into read ones.

I’m listing less than five here, but most of the books in the other challenges will be going towards this one. These ones are just the books I must read and will not take no for an answer (as if I’d protest).

  1. Inheritance by Christopher Paolini
  2. The Wise Man’s Fear by Patrick Rothfuss
  3. Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk

These are all the challenges I personally host over at BA, but at some point I might also join in with What’s In A Name and the GLBT one again (if the latter is re-hosting for 2012). It all depends on how the year goes.

Updated (31.3.2012)

I have more challenges to add, but just the ones I mentioned earlier.

The LGBT Reading Challenge

In recent years Natazzz was hosting the LGBT Reading Challenge, but passed it on at the end of 2011. No one took over at the time, but I really wanted to take part in an LGBT challenge so decided to have one for myself anyway. Now Heidi, from New Paper Adventures, has taken over hosting the challenge. I think Natazzz did a great job for the time I was following her challenge and I’m pretty happy Heidi has taken over.

I’m starting with two books as I don’t know how much I can keep up with and unfortunately I think this is one of those challenges that falls by the wayside for me (well, last year most of them did).

  1. Queer by William S. Burroughs
  2. Bi Any Other Name by Lani Ka’ahumanu

What’s in a Name 5

I took part in What’s in a Name, hosted by Beth Fish Reads, last year and loved it.

There’s a novelty to finding titles that much up with a category. I think part of it is being a challenge within a challenge.

Anyway, here are the categories to read.

  1. A book with a topographical feature (land formation) in the title: I’ve chosen either Finnikin of The Rock by Melina Marchetta or Treasure Island.
  2. A book with something you’d see in the sky in the title: I’ve chosen Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief by Percy Jackson.
  3. A book with a creepy crawly in the title: I’ve chosen The Lord of the Flies by William Golding.
  4. A book with a type of house in the title: I’ve chosen City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare.
  5. A book with something you’d carry in your pocket, purse, or backpack in the title: I’ve chosen One Hundred Great Books in Haiku by David M. Bader.
  6. A book with a something you’d find on a calendar in the title: I’ve chosen either Equinox by Lara Morgan or Days Like This by Alison Stewart.
Author: Bonnie

Between a blogging addiction, hosting reading challenges, reviewing, writing novels, and overcoming a neuro-immune disease, Bonnie attempts to do as many awesome things as she can and has a good dose of daily bunny cuddles. She resides in Western Sydney with her rabbit, Winston.

Leave a Reply

