Bonnie Sparks Writes

…fiction and discusses editing, writing, mental illness, chronic conditions, bunnies, food, fitness, and geeky topics.

Writing Progress Report – March 2012

Leave a comment

This is something I’m considering doing at least once a month, updating on how my writing and writing plans have been going, starting with the last two months. Or thereabouts…

Current W.I.P. News

I haven’t touched 8254 with a ten-foot barge pole. Ok, maybe it’s not that extreme, but I haven’t actually added any words to the novel yet. It’s somewhat frustrating seeing as most of the story is written. I still feel there is progress though, my work space is more organised with all the notes up, I finally came up with the title (as mentioned in this post), and more notes have been made with more ideas and kinks worked out for when I can go back into my writing cave.

So while I could be feeling dismal about not actually writing anything (sometimes it’s hard not writing), I choose to look on the brighter side and consider the time in convalescence as the thinking time. Although I worry about over working the ideas mentally, I’m sure it will be fine. It’s not like I think about it all day! Well… at least it’s not at the forefront of my mind all day.

I haven’t really got any other W.I.P.s at the moment except for short stories, born from dreams, and mainly exercises. Sometimes I get ideas from dreams and lately I’ve been getting a lot. Especially when it comes to whole stories. I remember having a dream where I wrote a whole novel and it wasn’t just the act of writing the novel, but being aware of the story. Unfortunately as I woke up I began to forget it and now only remember writing a novel. I’m bummed about that. I thought it was a pretty good story in my dream, but thankfully dreams don’t always make sense so maybe it wasn’t a loss.

Speaking of which.

Creations and Inspirations

Dreaming about the novel wasn’t the only thing, I now have a story that I feel could end up being a dark urban fantasy type, and I have two new characters. All from dreams! One of the characters I’m indifferent to, but the other one I love. I love the attitude, the name, and the ideas that have sprouted up when it comes to his story. I think the indifference one is more that I haven’t spent as much thought on them. It was more of a pop up ‘Hey I’m here‘ sort of discovery and has since gone to ground as if biding their time… I love characters! I love that sense of them coming from their own place, making us writers sound completely nuts, but they’re always born from our imaginations. Yep, it’s crazy.

There’s also a new story idea on the back-burner. I wrote up a summary straight away, by chapter, but have placed it on the back-burner for when I have more experience writing novels. I have the sense of wanting to discover the story, but I feel I am not ready enough for it and the sense of that is much stronger. I’m really excited about this one though and I feel it’s more of a psychological dystopia. Then again, when aren’t dystopias psychological to a degree?

Writing Group and Exercises

It’s been awhile since my writing group got together, unfortunately. At the same time I find this works for me because I haven’t been well enough to go. I haven’t even been able to do the last exercise we agreed on, but I did start one for myself and not being available for writing group has prompted a few things. First, I’ve created a blog and Facebook group for us to share work and discuss writerly subjects. It’s something we were talking about and before we came to a decision about which way to go, group or blog, I just went with it and created both. They’re both private, so no you can’t see them, but anything I deem to be decent written stories I’ll be sharing on here. And I might share some of the subjects or questions that arise. Maybe. We’ll see how that goes.

The second thing being unavailable has prompted is the desire to do my own exercises for this blog. Currently I’m not sure how often it will be, preferably once a week, but I’m going to be realistic and do them when I’m more capable.

I believe that’s it, or at least I can’t remember anything else right now. Except my partner told me I looked like a writer a few weeks ago. I think it was more eccentric due to wearing a woollen cardie over a summer dress. My hair might have been a bit mad that day too… All to add to the look I’m sure.

Author: Bonnie

Between a blogging addiction, hosting reading challenges, reviewing, writing novels, and overcoming a neuro-immune disease, Bonnie attempts to do as many awesome things as she can and has a good dose of daily bunny cuddles. She resides in Western Sydney with her rabbit, Winston.

Leave a Reply

