Bonnie Sparks Writes

…fiction and discusses editing, writing, mental illness, chronic conditions, bunnies, food, fitness, and geeky topics.

Nano Novel 2012 Quotes: Day One

Leave a comment

So I’ve reached my goal and exceeded it today (I aimed for a leeway of 1,800-2,000 words). It’s only just coming up to 2pm, but I want to pace myself and not wear myself out too much. What I’ve decided to do after I finish each day is post my total daily summary over on Twitter and post a quote from what I’ve written that day.

I will not be editing my quotes overly much before I post them. I want to leave the material as raw as possible in order to avoid the edit-as-you-go problem. I may or may not include a summary of how my writing day went. Depends on how my hands and brain are feeling.

___

Today’s Quote

Polly, the larger and stockier of the two, eyes all the other children pointedly in turn, sizing up the group and probing for the weakest link with her blue gaze.

___

Today was interesting. I think putting words down came across as effortless, but finding the right words was hard work. There wasn’t really much of a flow, but I’m happy with character descriptions and I feel that’s usually my weakness.

I have noticed I’m dreading coming up to the point where things turn ugly for Lulu. I’m wondering if this dread caused me to write more in descriptions to avoid it. Oh well, I’ll be writing it tomorrow!

Author: Bonnie

Between a blogging addiction, hosting reading challenges, reviewing, writing novels, and overcoming a neuro-immune disease, Bonnie attempts to do as many awesome things as she can and has a good dose of daily bunny cuddles. She resides in Western Sydney with her rabbit, Winston.

Leave a Reply

