Bonnie Sparks Writes

…fiction and discusses editing, writing, mental illness, chronic conditions, bunnies, food, fitness, and geeky topics.

Nano Novel 2012 Quotes: Day Thirteen and Fourteen

Leave a comment

Each day I will be posting my total daily summary of my NaNo writing over on Twitter and posting a quote, from what I’ve written, here.

I will not be editing my quotes overly much before I post them. I want to leave the material as raw as possible in order to avoid the edit-as-you-go problem. I may or may not include a summary of how my writing day went. Depends on how my hands and brain are feeling.

___

Day Thirteen’s Quote

He was taking his shoes and socks off. Tossing his shoes over to the base of a tree, he wadded his socks up into a ball and held them in his hand.

Today’s Quote

“Yes.” Lulu answers, her voice becoming trancelike, as the tingling begins at the base of her skull.

___

I can’t believe it’s only day fourteen! It feels like it’s the later half of November already and hasn’t been only two weeks of writing fury. I don’t know if that is a common feeling. I write pretty sporadically, trying to work around my health, so writing every day for me is not a regular practice. Unfortunately.

Anyway, so I finished part one of Bully Me yesterday, did the intermission several days ago (last week?), and am well into the second part of the story as of today. While the story was planned out, it was mostly the first part and the intermission that was outlined extensively. The latter half has been more of a short summary (really, really short – as in ‘these characters get it’) for each chapter and has the feeling of being a pantser experience.

I was a bit worried about coming to the second part after having the beginning so planned out, but it’s been good so far. The second half is different in more ways than one though, as I discovered today. The first half is broken into chapters, naturally, with the chapters focusing on an incidence of bullying or assault and the chapter spanning a day. The second part not so much. Instead the chapters are still focusing on scenes, but they don’t take a day. It’s starting to look as though the second part is going to span one whole day instead of several.

I didn’t think that was going to happen when I first began outlining, but I’m not bothered by it. I think it just means my suspicions of this being a novella and not reaching the 50,000 goal will be confirmed.

I’m finding it easier to write Bully Me now too. Seeing as the story is based on my own experiences, writing the MC’s experiences has left me feeling all sorts of negative emotions. The last scene in part one was the worst. I was in a funk for the rest of the day yesterday, I finished writing by lunch time, and couldn’t find a way to snap out of it. I was so affected by it I wanted to cry when I finished writing!

Now it’s pretty much just fucking shit up and that makes it both a cathartic release for me and fun. I don’t like writing stories that are so painful and don’t have an ounce of enjoyment present, so having the fun start is making me happy.

Although, I did create three characters today that I loved (they’re so adorable), and then killed off just as quickly… Shameful, just shameful.

Anyway, I feel like I’ve gone on enough today. I’m almost at 30,000 so I’m going to go rest my hands.

Author: Bonnie

Between a blogging addiction, hosting reading challenges, reviewing, writing novels, and overcoming a neuro-immune disease, Bonnie attempts to do as many awesome things as she can and has a good dose of daily bunny cuddles. She resides in Western Sydney with her rabbit, Winston.

Leave a Reply

