Bonnie Sparks Writes

…fiction and discusses editing, writing, mental illness, chronic conditions, bunnies, food, fitness, and geeky topics.

2012 Reading Challenges Wrap-Up

Leave a comment

I know it’s been awhile and boy do I have some news to share, but I want to get my reading challenge wrap-ups and sign-ups out of the way first so I can start clean with my reading challenges for next year.

I read that back to myself… Sounded a little pedantic didn’t it? Anyway, I do have an update coming in regards to NaNo, NaNo Sponsorship, and health, but it’s quite long and has been exhausting to write up. Come to think of it, most of everything at the moment is exhausting, but for those who know I had a hospital stay, I’m much better than I was.

So, reading challenges. This is this year’s sign-up with my goals for the year. I’ve come to accept I don’t meet my reading goals when I set them, but I think I got closer this year than I have in a long time. I was aiming to read only 25 books and to focus on writing. I made it over 40… the good news is I did write a novel this year. Granted it was in the one month, but maybe one novel in one month without much of anything else is better than nothing, right? Right?

I’m not going to do an extensive wrap-up about my experiences right now, due to energy levels (I’m going to fill it in more when January lands and I’ve officially finished all my books), so here’s the list of what I did read as well as the challenges I took part in. I haven’t linked up to reviews due to energy levels as well, but you can find all reviews I do here on BA. Either tomorrow or in the next couple of days I’ll attempt to share a sign-up for 2013’s challenges too.

Off the Shelf 2012 Reading Challenge

  1. One Hundred Great Books in Haiku by David Bader
  2. Blanket of White by Amy Grech
  3. Codex Nekromantia by Greg X. Graves
  4. Off The Shelf! Reading ChallengeThe Melancholy Death of Oyster Boy and Other Stories by Tim Burton
  5. Momentum by Saci Lloyd
  6. Bear’s Heart by Corie J. Weaver
  7. The Antithesis by Terra Whiteman
  8. Equinox by Lara Morgan
  9. The Undrowned Child by Michelle Lovric
  10. Storm Glass by Maria V. Snyder
  11. He’s After Me by Chris Higgins
  12. Soulless by Gail Carriger
  13. The Butterfly Man by Heather Rose
  14. Lockdown: Escape From Furnace 1 by Alexander Gordon Smith

Go Indie 2012 Reading Challenge

I failed. I failed big time… Woe is me.Go Indie Reading Challenge

  1. Bear’s Heart by Corie J. Weaver

Free Reads 2012 Reading Challenge

  1. Momentum by Saci Lloyd
  2. Blanket of White by Amy Grech
  3. Codex Nekromantia by Greg X. Graves
  4. Bear’s Heart by Corie J. Weaver
  5. The Antithesis by Terra WhitemanFree Reads Reading Challenge 2012
  6. The Antithesis 2a by Terra Whiteman
  7. The Wolf Gift by Anne Rice
  8. Equinox by Lara Morgan
  9. The Undrowned Child by Michelle Lovric
  10. The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa
  11. Storm Glass by Maria V. Snyder
  12. He’s After Me by Chris Higgens
  13. Soulless by Gail Carriger
  14. This Perfect Day by Ira Levin
  15. The Girl in the Steel Corset by Kady Cross
  16. Intertwined by Gena Showalter
  17. Speechless by Hannah Harrington
  18. Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter
  19. The Iron King by Julie Kagawa
  20. Dungeon Brain by Benjamin Kane Ethridge

Dystopia 2012 Reading Challenge

  1. The Dystopia Reading Challenge 2012Momentum by Saci Lloyd
  2. The Wave by Morton Rhue
  3. Genesis by Lara Morgan
  4. Equinox by Lara Morgan
  5. The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa
  6. This Perfect Day by Ira Levin
  7. Lockdown: Escape From Furnace 1 by Alexander Gordon Smith
  8. Solitary: Escape from Furnace 2 by Alexander Gordon Smith

Get Steampunked! 2012 Reading Challenge

I failed in this one too, but meh.Get Steampunked! Reading Challenge

  1. Soulless by Gail Carriger
  2. The Girl in the Steel Corset by Kady Cross

What’s in a Name Challenge

Hosted by Beth Fish ReadsWhat's in a Name 5 Reading Challenge
  1. A book with a topographical feature (land formation) in the title: 172 Hours on the Moon by John Harstad
  2. A book with something you’d see in the sky in the title: Storm Glass by Maria V. Snyder
  3. A book with a creepy crawly in the title: The Butterfly Man by Heather Rose
  4. A book with a type of house in the title: Fun Home by Alison Bechdel
  5. A book with something you’d carry in your pocket, purse, or backpack in the title: One Hundred Great Books in Haiku by David M. Bader.
  6. A book with a something you’d find on a calendar in the title: Equinox by Lara Morgan

LGBT 2012 Reading Challenge

Hosted by New Paper Adventures
  1. The LGBT Reading Challenge 2012Codex Nekromantia by Greg X. Graves (side character)
  2. The Wolf Gift by Anne Rice (side character)
  3. Fun Home by Alison Bechdel (author)
  4. Soulless by Gail Carriger (side characters)
  5. Speechless by Hannah Harrington (side characters plus interwoven in the main storyline)
  6. Unbearable Lightness by Portia de Rossi (author)

And that’s about it. A couple I failed, some I excelled, but mostly I feel like I hit pretty close to my goals and read far more than I was expecting. Good times.

UPDATE: Following I’ve listed what I read during the year. I realised some of the books weren’t included in challenges and I also like to keep track of what I read. My reading journal, the hand-written version, was a bit of a mess for 2012 so this is my record.

  1. One Hundred Great Books in Haiku by David Bader.
  2. Blanket of White by Amy Grech
  3. Codex Nekromantia by Greg X. Graves
  4. The Melancholy Death of Oyster Boy and Other Stories by Tim Burton
  5. Momentum by Saci Lloyd
  6. Bear’s Heart by Corie J. Weaver
  7. The Wave by Morton Rhue
  8. The Antithesis by Terra Whiteman
  9. The Antithesis 2a by Terra Whiteman
  10. The Antithesis 2b by Terra Whiteman
  11. The Antithesis 3a by Terra Whiteman
  12. Harry Potter and The Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling (re-read)
  13. The Wolf Gift by Anne Rice
  14. Harry Potter and The Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling (re-read)
  15. Genesis by Lara Morgan
  16. Equinox by Lara Morgan
  17. The Undrowned Child by Michelle Lovric
  18. The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa
  19. Fun Home by Alison Bechdel
  20. Storm Glass by Maria V. Snyder
  21. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins (re-read)
  22. He’s After Me by Chris Higgens
  23. Soulless by Gail Carriger
  24. Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins (re-read)
  25. Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins (re-read)
  26. The Butterfly Man by Heather Rose
  27. This Perfect Day by Ira Levin
  28. The Girl in the Steel Corset by Kady Cross
  29. Beatrice and Virgil by Yann Martel
  30. Intertwined by Gena Showalter
  31. Lockdown: Escape From Furnace 1 by Alexander Gordon Smith
  32. Solitary: Escape from Furnace 2 by Alexander Gordon Smith
  33. Speechless by Hannah Harrington
  34. Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter
  35. 172 Hours on the Moon by John Harstad
  36. The Iron King by Julie Kagawa
  37. Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris (re-read)
  38. The Iron Daughter by Julie Kagawa
  39. Living Dead in Dallas by Charlaine Harris
  40. Winter’s Passage by Julike Kagawa
  41. The Iron Queen by Julie Kagawa
  42. Dungeon Brain by Benjamin Kane Ethridge
  43. Above Ground by A.M. Harte
  44. Morning Rising by Samantha Boyette (re-read)
  45. Unbearable Lightness by Portia de Rossi
Author: Bonnie

Between a blogging addiction, hosting reading challenges, reviewing, writing novels, and overcoming a neuro-immune disease, Bonnie attempts to do as many awesome things as she can and has a good dose of daily bunny cuddles. She resides in Western Sydney with her rabbit, Winston.

Leave a Reply

