Bonnie Sparks Writes

…fiction and discusses editing, writing, mental illness, chronic conditions, bunnies, food, fitness, and geeky topics.

2013 Reading Challenges Sign-Up

Leave a comment

Reading Challenges: I spent four complete days changing Bookish Ardour around so I could open up 2013 challenges and have 2012 challenges remain accessible. That’s what I’m celebrating; being finished! I’ve cleaned up the pages and I have pretty new badges. What’s not to be happy about?

I’m not completely set on what I’m going to be aiming for. It won’t be a lot again as I want to focus on writing again, but I’m still aiming for something. Here’s a list (I’ll add this to my reading journal in the new year), some of the list will be blank, and some will be filled in. I like the element of suspense not knowing exactly what I’m reading will entail so I’ll fill in the rest as I read.

What I’m Hosting on Bookish Ardour

BA’s 2013 Dystopia Reading Challenge

About: The Dystopia Challenge is all about, well, dystopia. Read books set in dystopian settings, BA's 2013 Dystopia Challenge with totalitarian governments, or something more close-knit. The Dystopia Challenge includes Post-Apocalyptic themes as well.

Level: Asocial

  1. Delirium by Lauren Oliver

BA’s 2013 Go Indie Reading Challenge

About: The Go Indie Reading is more about giving the non-mainstream type of published works a chance. This is about self-published books, but it does include books published by Indepedant Publishers as well, such as 1889 Labs. While self-pubbed and Indie Published aren’t the same thing, enjoying and sharing books published outside of the larger, traditional ways of publishing is something every reader should consider trying and this is the challlenge to help you do it.BA's 2013 Go Indie Reading Challenge

Level: Tentative

  1. A White so Red by Krystle Jones
  2. Voodoo by Samantha Boyette
  3. Darkness of Morning by Samantha Boyette
  4. Florence by Ciye Cho

BA’s 2013 Get Steampunk’d Reading Challenge

About: The Get Steampunk’d Reading Challenge is all about Steampunk! Read anything as long as it has that Steampunk theme, with steam-powered gadgets, dirigibles, and punked up Victorian dress.

I don’t know why, but I feel I should keep attempting to read Steampunk. I guess I’m stubborn. I love the culture and everything else to do with Steampunk. I can’t accept I don’t like Steampunk Fiction. Yet. I’m aiming for five with this one as well, which will be Geared, but I have no idea what I’m reading for it. None at all!BA's 2013 Get Steampunk'd Reading Challenge

Level: Geared

BA’s 2013 Off the Shelf Reading Challenge

About: The Off the Shelf Reading Challenge is probably the most popular challenge there is on BA. The goal? To read books on your shelves that have gone unread for far too long. Selecting books from the year before (in this case, 2012 and before), read as many of the unread ones as you can. It’s up to you if you want to keep them or give them away afterwards, the main goal is to turn those unread books into read ones.

I’m aiming for five, but I will probably go over. I’m basically just going to see what I read in other challenges and try to stick to ones on my shelf for them. BA's 2013 Off the Shelf Reading Challenge

Level: Tempted

  1. Bi Any Other Name
  2. The Lost Prince by Julie Kagawa
  3. Scent of Magic by Maria V. Snyder
  4. Voodoo by Samantha Boyette
  5. Darkness of Morning by Samantha Boyette
  6. Florence by Ciye Cho
  7. Indigo Awakening by Jordan Dane

BA’s 2013 Free Reads Reading Challenge

About: The Free Reads Challenge is about all those books you’ve received for free, but haven’t been able to get to. Read books you’ve gotten via presents, review requests, prizes, or just found in the street. Does not include library books or other lending services. They must be books that have become part of your personal collection.

While I’m aiming for five with this one as well, I’m already going over. You can see so in the list below… There’s quite a few unread books on my shelves that have been given to me and I haven’t gotten to, but I think I’ll pretty much just go with whatever the other challenges dicatate. Free Reads feels like an effortless challenge for me, but I love doing it. Maybe the lack of effort is why!BA's 2013 Free Reads Reading Challenge

Level: For Me?

  1. The Lost Prince by Julie Kagawa
  2. Scent of Magic by Maria V. Snyder
  3. Voodoo by Samantha Boyette
  4. Darkness of Morning by Samantha Boyette
  5. Florence by Ciye Cho
  6. Indigo Awakening by Jordan Dane

Those are all the challenges I’m hosting. The next two are by others and ones I can’t seem to get enough of.

The LGBT Reading Challenge

About: The LGBT Reading Challenge, hosted by New Paper Adventures, is all LGBT 2013 Reading Challengeabout LGBT. Wouldn’t have guessed, would you? Read books by LGBT authors, with LGBT themes, or LGBT characters, and set your own personal goal.

I always want to read more LGBT and 2012 saw me pass my previous acheivements. Seeing as this one doesn’t have targets set, but I’m aiming for five in everything, I’ve set myself a target of five anyway. On another topic, sort of, this challenge has inspired me to create a queer book club based in Western Sydney. Drop me a line if you’re interested.

Level: Five

  1. Bi Any Other Name: Bisexual People Speak Out
  2. Voodoo by Samantha Boyette
  3. Darkness of Morning by Samantha Boyette

The What’s in a Name 6 Challenge

I love this challenge, hosted by Beth Fish Reads. I think half the fun is the added challenge of What's in a Name Challengetrying to find titles to fit in with the categories and even more so when I try to only read books on my shelf. Love, love, love it. I only wish there were more categories sometimes…

I’ve listed a few titles, but it really depends on my other challenges and what else I come across during the year.

  1. A book with up or down (or equivalent) in the title: Ashfall – The Big Trip up Yonder
  2. A book with something you’d find in your kitchen in the title: The Knife of Never Letting Go –
  3. A book with a party or celebration in the title: No Safety in Numbers – Anthem – Skin Games – Fight Club
  4. A book with fire (or equivalent) in the title: Peter Pan – Sisters Red
  5. A book with an emotion in the title: Delirium
  6. A book with lost or found (or equivalent) in the title: Paradise Lost – The Lost World – A Strange Manuscript Found in a Copper Cylinder – The Vanishing – Perfect Copy

So those are my reading challenges set for next year and I’ll udpate with relevant information when it comes around. Otherwise I’ll be listing any books I read in my reading journal, as per usual.

Author: Bonnie

Between a blogging addiction, hosting reading challenges, reviewing, writing novels, and overcoming a neuro-immune disease, Bonnie attempts to do as many awesome things as she can and has a good dose of daily bunny cuddles. She resides in Western Sydney with her rabbit, Winston.

Leave a Reply

