Bonnie Sparks Writes

…fiction and discusses editing, writing, mental illness, chronic conditions, bunnies, food, fitness, and geeky topics.

Workout: Walking The Bay Run

Leave a comment

Workout WednesdayIt’s Workout Wednesday time! It’s a chance for me to post about my progress with fitness. I’ve had M.E. (Myalgic Encephalomyelities or incorrectly titled Chronic Fatigue Syndrome) since 2005. When it first began I was in the 5-10% ability range – bedridden, unable to sleep, unable to tolerate noise, unable to do much of anything except lie inert in a dark room.

As you can imagine, muscle wasting occurred and then I developed a blood clot. This blood clot went unnoticed until it travelled into my lungs and split into three blood clots. Such fun! The pulmonary embolism prompted me to get my body moving and now I’ve been building my strength back up, one workout session at a time.

Today I’m going to wax lyrical about The Bay Run at Five Dock.

_____

This past Saturday I attempted walking The Bay Run at Five Dock. Attempted and conquered. Yeay, SUCK IT! I don’t know who that’s for, but I feel it needed to be said.

A view of the Iron Cove along the path. I was on the other side at one point.

A view of the Iron Cove along the path. I was on the other side at one point.

The Bay Run is a 7km loop circling Iron Cove and running through the suburbs of Leichhardt, Five Dock, and Drummoyne. It has paths for cyclists, walkers/runners, and is dog friendly. Along the way there are cafés, restaurants, plenty of parks, more cafés, and paths leading down to the water, or breaking off somewhere else, every so often.

I had seen Iron Cove before, not up close, but close enough. I remember going to Birkenhead Point, which you can see as you walk the loop, and have been past it in a car, but I never thought of walking it. I hadn’t known about the run until I’d met my partner and we drove past it together. Even then; I still didn’t consider walking it.

I love walking and walking with a water’s edge in plain sight, so when my partner suggested we go for a walk along The Bay Run for something to do on our first quiet weekend in a while, I thought why not? Surely that couldn’t hurt? The block where I live is roughly 4.5km’s, what’s a few more?

A wall of trees along a part of the Bay Run.

A wall of trees along a part of the Bay Run.

So far the farthest I had walked, without stopping, was around the block. I think it does help having walked during outings, with stops, around shopping centres, chilling around the city, and even grocery shopping, but it’s a different ballpark when it’s non-stop motion and you haven’t gone that far in more than eight years.

The walk turned out to be far easier than I was expecting and took us roughly an hour and forty minutes. Although it wasn’t hilly, which is what the block I live on is like, it still had inclines every so often. It was nice having the walk broken up in such a way, as well as being able to see so much during the walk. There were so many dogs. So many. I love dogs. There was even a dog crossing the cove itself and then running up the path. I guess he had his own workout plan in mind.

I couldn’t help myself during the walk; I had to take photos with my phone (hence the pictures). Being such a long time since being ‘healthy’, it was quite a novelty to be walking along the bay, being overtaken by runners, seeing children on scooters and bikes, walking past soccer games in progress at various ovals, and being able to keep up with such a wealth of constant activity. My anxiety and social phobia only surfaced a couple of times when I began taking photos as I was walking, but it was a dull nudge that went on its way when I realised I didn’t care what anyone around me thought.

The end result is I was fine afterwards, granted I was hungry, but exhilarated and itching to walk The Bay Run again. This is something I’ll be doing every weekend now and I greatly look forward to it. I recommend it if you love to walk, run, ride a bike, or want the challenge. It’s really a lovely and relaxing walk, even when you’re pushing yourself.

Author: Bonnie

Between a blogging addiction, hosting reading challenges, reviewing, writing novels, and overcoming a neuro-immune disease, Bonnie attempts to do as many awesome things as she can and has a good dose of daily bunny cuddles. She resides in Western Sydney with her rabbit, Winston.

Leave a Reply

