Bonnie Sparks Writes

…fiction and discusses editing, writing, mental illness, chronic conditions, bunnies, food, fitness, and geeky topics.

Motley: Why I Got a Tattoo

Leave a comment

Motley MondayIt’s Motley Monday time! It’s a chance for me to share non-writing based posts and take the opportunity to be a dork and utilise alliteration. Motley Monday would have been Shoot the Shit, but you know, love of alliteration as well as making me sound like a Bogan..

My main subjects will include rabbits, gaming, gardening (or how bad I am at it), my rabbit Winston, bookish things, and errant thought patterns probably to do with rabbits… Did I mention I like rabbits?

Today it’s all about why I got a tattoo, after years, and years, and years…

_____

I never thought I’d be one to go and get a tattoo. I have always considered getting one, well on and off over the years, admired tattoos as body art, but never thought I’d actually go and get one. Why? It’s a transience thing. We all know things change, but most of my personal principles are based around the act of change. Nothing lasts forever. To quote Buddha with my favourite quote on the subject;

“This existence of ours is as transient as autumn clouds. To watch the birth and death of beings is like looking at the movements of a dance. A lifetime is like a flash of lightning in the sky, rushing by, like a torrent down a steep mountain.”

I see this as not only applying to the bigger picture and life itself, but smaller things as well. Marking your body is one of those things. When I say small I do not mean insignificant, but then again everything is insignificant isn’t? Then again… That’s probably a subject for another time!

So many people fight change and yet we are creatures of change. We adapt and change all the time. You might not even realise you’re doing it until it’s done, but it is happening. I used to wonder how anyone could decide on a tattoo when things change so much. Opinions, perceptions, likes and dislikes change. Granted you have some old favourites you stick with, but not every like falls under the category of old faves.

I’m one of those people who fight and embrace change because I know it’s inevitable. I realise and accept it. This is why I had not gotten a tattoo until now. What changed? There we go with that word again. It all comes back to change.

Last year when I was diagnosed with a Pulmonary Embolism things changed and for the better. I’ve had near death experiences before, they always bring you up short and make you question every thing, but this one was different. While that was going on, so much more was going on as well and I guess you could say the PE was the catalyst to change everything. I still expect change and see change in everything, but now I want to embrace it even more.

Life is short, we have one body, one mind, and I’m not saying to take part in acts that will damage those things (like drugs and drinking and eating badly), but why hesitate so much on other actions when it won’t damage you to try them or do them? I’m afraid of heights and the same thought processes apply. Granted it won’t leave a permanent mark on my body if I take part in an activity that involves heights, unless I fall of course, but I’m over hesitating. I want to do… almost everything I feel like doing. Rock climbing and kayaking are on the agenda, and yes more tattoos.

Anyway, I’m sure you get my point. Here’s my tattoo;

My Tattoo

Freshly done!

I went with a medic alert tattoo as my first for several reasons. The main being so I don’t have to remember to wear a medic alert necklace or bracelet. I find it quite annoying and I tend to misplace them thanks to my foggy brain. Then there’s the reason of diabetes isn’t going away so wouldn’t it be best to make sure I like having tattoos with one about something that will never change (you could be asking about a cure by now, but I’ve had T1D’s since 1987 so I’m over waiting)? And then there’s partly my celebration and partly no hesitation.

I did think about this, every day for quite some time, but I wanted to celebrate being free of clots, putting all of that behind me, and how having a P.E. drastically changed my life. It’s all forward from here on out, so why hesitate any longer about something I’ve considered on and off for years? Stop hesitating if you do. Embrace! Live life! Do things! I’m so articulate!

Quick Note: Stay tuned for Wednesday’s post, it’s going to be writing related! Finally!

Author: Bonnie

Between a blogging addiction, hosting reading challenges, reviewing, writing novels, and overcoming a neuro-immune disease, Bonnie attempts to do as many awesome things as she can and has a good dose of daily bunny cuddles. She resides in Western Sydney with her rabbit, Winston.

Leave a Reply

