Bonnie Sparks Writes

…fiction and discusses editing, writing, mental illness, chronic conditions, bunnies, food, fitness, and geeky topics.

Music Monday: Indifference by Pearl Jam

Leave a comment

Music MondayIt’s Music Monday time! I used to listen to music religiously, avidly, hungrily! That is until I fell ill with M.E. (Myalgic Encephalomyelities) and couldn’t listen to anything. It would give me a headache and send my senses into overload. Understandably, I avoided music for a long time.

Now I can listen to it more, but have trouble multi-tasking while it’s on. I will make my ears listen though. Oh they will! Here’s me sharing my favourite songs for the past two weeks. Enjoy!

_____

The Backstory: To keep these posts rolling, and to give myself a break during NaNo, I thought I’d do a throwback to music I loved when I was younger.

I was multi-tasking the other day by listening to a show on television while cleaning up the house. A commercial came on and I recognised the music with it as Pearl Jam’s! My first reaction was happiness and singing along, until it hit me. Pearl Jam was being used in a promo. Pearl Jam. Oh my god, I’m getting old.

I can’t remember what song it was, but it led to a Pearl Jam binge and now I’m considering having a Pearl Jam ringtone. I do love my Monkey Magic one though…

__________

Why I Love it: You know when you hit that period in your life where you really begin to appreciate music? You can be around it when you’re a kid, of course, but I think for a lot of people the music doesn’t really sink in until you’re older and your brain is more developed.

For me it was my early teens. I began a musical love affair with Tool, Grinspoon, Jimi Hendrix (I have banned myself from listening to Manic Depression), Nirvana, The Doors, The Smashing Pumpkins, and Pearl Jam.

Pearl Jam’s earlier music, regardless of song, takes me back to the love affair and makes me remember what it felt like to really discover music for the first time.

Author: Bonnie

Between a blogging addiction, hosting reading challenges, reviewing, writing novels, and overcoming a neuro-immune disease, Bonnie attempts to do as many awesome things as she can and has a good dose of daily bunny cuddles. She resides in Western Sydney with her rabbit, Winston.

Leave a Reply

