Bonnie Sparks Writes

…fiction and discusses editing, writing, mental illness, chronic conditions, bunnies, food, fitness, and geeky topics.

What’s New: Goals and Plans for December 2013

Leave a comment

What's New WednesdayIt’s What’s New Wednesday time! It’s a chance for me to share what’s new in my non-writing and writing world. Check out the other memes I’ve created in order to get myself blogging regularly – Motley Monday, Workout Wednesday, Fucked up Friday, Music Monday, Workout Wednesday, Foodie Friday.

____

Keeping up with my new tradition I began in October, I’m going to share my plans for December, and update on my plans for November.

____

I can’t believe it’s almost December! Each time I try to think about it, my brain freezes and a tension headache begins. November went by so, so fast. It was such a blur my brain is still reeling. I won’t go into my NaNo adventures here, that can come after the end of November.

My goals and plans for November didn’t exactly pan out how I wanted them to, but such is life.

Writing the first draft of Quiet Please – My plans for getting the first draft out didn’t happen. I began and I have pieces, but I eventually ended up switching to writing the one I had planned for next NaNo. I’ve nicknamed it Sophie for the time being. So now I have two stories I’ve started, which is fine by me.

Overcoming Social Phobia and Anxiety – This one is still ongoing, I believe it will be for awhile, but I think I’m getting there. I’ve been far more social in the last month than I have in some time and have been able to strike up and continue conversations with strangers. The interesting thing is… I have felt far more comfortable around WriMos and far less comfortable around people I’ve met before and their friends. There’s been a few non-Nano events I’ve gone to where I wasn’t much of a conversationalist. I clammed up and withdrew. So in some ways progress was had, but in others I’ve gone back a few steps.

Thirty Day Squat Challenge – Didn’t happen. I began, I made it to 135 squats all up, but I didn’t keep up with it. My fitness in November took a nose dive, unfortunately.

Building-up Fitness – Part of this was getting into the habit of exercising before lunch. After being derailed by appointments and illness, I kind of forgot all about it. I’m good, I know.

Anaemia Recovery – Still ongoing and I’m feeling I may be getting up there with my iron finally. Certain times I get worse with it and my iron deficiency symptoms haven’t been as bad then.

My Goals and Plans for December

Muscle Toning – I have begun to lose my muscles. I know! It’s freaking me out! I’m going to get back into strength training with a vengeance, or better yet, gradually, until it is a wonderful habit again. Squats will be part of this, but I’m not sure if I’ll do another challenge just yet. If I do, I want to work on squats, planking, and star jumps. I don’t know what it is about star jumps (jumping jacks), but I just love the feel of them. I can do three hundred in a session all up, I want to be able to do that and more on a regular basis. Oops, getting ahead of myself!

Finishing Sophie – I want to continue on writing Sophie. I haven’t abandoned Quiet Please, but I think I need far more planning with that one before I write certain scenes. I’ve gotten much further into Sophie than Quiet Please so will alter my writing plans for the next year and focus on finishing the first draft before Christmas.

Blood Sugar Control – This is something I’ve been working on for a while with my endocrinologist (even after twenty-six years with it, type one diabetes can get the better of you). We’re onto the next step of me going to see the educator and getting a new glucometer (of the carb-entering variety) and this will be happening in December.

That’s it for December. I don’t want to overload myself with Christmas and New Year’s coming up. That’s enough to deal with without going crazy with goals and plans!

Author: Bonnie

Between a blogging addiction, hosting reading challenges, reviewing, writing novels, and overcoming a neuro-immune disease, Bonnie attempts to do as many awesome things as she can and has a good dose of daily bunny cuddles. She resides in Western Sydney with her rabbit, Winston.

Leave a Reply

