Bonnie Sparks Writes

…fiction and discusses editing, writing, mental illness, chronic conditions, bunnies, food, fitness, and geeky topics.

Being Behind, Migraines, Blood Sugars, Cool Bunny, and Great Things

Leave a comment

I don’t see much happening around here, or on BA, for a little bit. Since November I’ve been trying to play catch-up, but then things happen of course. Like the last week I’ve had. I’ll set out to blog, write, read, and organise every day, but then I get hit with migraines, I start feeling sick, I become really fatigued, and I end up having several lows in one day.

It’s been a great last week.

The low blood sugars are mainly due to my new glucometer. A low every so often is fine to deal with, as long as it’s not a crazy-bad one. You get one, you treat it, you get on with your day. When you have several a day for days on end though, your brain starts to lose its shit. Errant blood sugars cause fatigue and cognitive dysfunction.

Each day I wake feeling none too bad. I sit down and begin to type something up, but then the lows begin and by lunch time I’ve gotten hardly anything done, I’m fatigued, I’m easily confused, and I’m getting really frustrated.

I’m working with my educator and endocrinologist still and we’ve changed the settings in my glucomenter so hopefully it will help. I hope so because this has been going on for a couple of weeks and there’s only so many lows you can deal with before you starting coming apart.

My other issue lately has been migraines. I go through bouts of migraines every now and then. There’s several reasons why. You tend to get migraines when you’re anaemic and I recently forgot to take my iron for a few days. Then all the low blood sugars are probably contributing as well, the air-con died and I’m not good with heat, and I’m having trouble with screens lately.

Plenty of reasons to have a migraine right there. Stupid migraines. With the air-con dying, the place is darker than usual because I close all the blinds to keep that damn heat out. Plus the house I live in shares a wall with the neighbours on one side and then has the bedrooms on the other side, so the only inlets for light into the common areas are the back sliding doors and the front door. Oh, and there’s the skylight in the kitchen if you want to count that, but really it just looks like a white decoration on the ceiling…

Put all that together with a screen and lack of light, it’s no wonder you’ve got migraine city up in here. Today I also spent a bit running around trying to make sure Winston doesn’t get too hot. Rabbits and heat don’t mix. It’s best to have them in an environment that’s not too warm and not too cool. You can tell when the temperature is right for a bunny when they begin running around. Each time it’s too hot Winston lays down most of the day and I will hardly see him because he’ll be hiding under the table or couch. On too cold days he’ll just be squished up into a little puffball trying to keep the heat in and I’ll sit next to him so he can get some of my warmth.

This morning, while Winston alternated between different tiles in the entrance way to lie on, I strategically placed large glass bowls of ice water through the house for him to lay against, prepared more water bottles for freezing, filled his waterbowl with ice water, closed up all the blinds and doors, borrowed one of the gates from outside to use as a safety door leading into the bedroom (Winston believes it’s colder in there for some reason), hung a sheet over the bathroom window, cleaned out all his litter trays and prepared them so I didn’t have to go back into the garage and let any heat in, filled up the jug of fridge water, pulled my small bamboo rug out to slide under the couch, and finally placed our small fan on the floor so it sweeps air around some of Winston’s favourite chill out places.

For the rest of the day, each time he stretches out somewhere that’s not near one of the glass bowls of water or the fan, I’m going to be gettig up to place a frozen water bottle wrapped in a towel against him. Then every so often I’ll be dampening his ears with water to try and cool him down. Rabbit’s can get very sick if they get wet, but a bit of dampness around the ears is ok for them.

I guess my last complaint is stupid hay fever. It’s wonderful being able to take antihistamines finally, but sometimes they just don’t work. Today they definitely have not worked. My nose is dripping like a faucet. Give me another hour and I’ll probably be beyond frustrated and ready to stop doing everything I have set out to do. Except… I’ve been like this almost every day for the past two weeks and I’m running out of time to finish my task lists. There’s only so many days you can put stuff off, especially before Christmas.

Haha, my stomach just grumbled so loudly it made Winston run away from me.

Looks like I may not be doing my Flash Fiction challenge, but oh well. I do have some positives to help with all this moping. My partner finishes work today and goes on her Christmas leave, my eldest brother and his family (lovely wife, three cute kids) are arriving in Australia from the UK today, we’ve gotten all the Christmas shopping done, I’m going to my first post-NaNo write-in tonight with the Western Sydney chapter of Writer’s of the Lost Ark, and it’s only twelve days till my holiday to Melbourne! EXCITED!

Even with an unhappy head and stupid blood sugar issues, it’s not all shit! I’m really hungry now though so I’m going to go eat and try and figure out what the point of this post was…

Author: Bonnie

Between a blogging addiction, hosting reading challenges, reviewing, writing novels, and overcoming a neuro-immune disease, Bonnie attempts to do as many awesome things as she can and has a good dose of daily bunny cuddles. She resides in Western Sydney with her rabbit, Winston.

Leave a Reply

