Bonnie Sparks Writes

…fiction and discusses editing, writing, mental illness, chronic conditions, bunnies, food, fitness, and geeky topics.

What’s New: 2014 is Insane

Leave a comment

What's New WednesdayIt’s What’s New Wednesday time! It’s a chance for me to share what’s new in my non-writing and writing world. Check out the other memes I’ve created in order to get myself blogging regularly – Motley Monday, Workout Wednesday, Fucked up Friday, Music Monday, Workout Wednesday, Foodie Friday.

-_-

So I’ve been gone for awhile now… I had planned on blogging over Christmas, New Years, and January, but well, um, that didn’t work out. I mean, what was I thinking? Planning to be online and blogging over the holidays? Ha! Haha! HA!

January is over and I’m already stuffed. So far 2014 has been jam-packed and I’m questioning whether I will get some free time this year, or not. I’m not complaining. Not at all. I’m in shock. I’m in shock, I’m surprised, I don’t know what day it is, and damn it if I’m not hungry.

December 2013

So last year happened. I had this plan to do a whole reflection type post, but who has the time for those? Apparently I don’t. Last year was crazy. Maybe that’s my life now, just crazy and on all the time.

It all began with my whole shitty experience after being diagnosed with a Pulmonary Embolism.  After treatment and recovery, I started working out, I joined the gym, I decided to not hesitate anymore, and I made a commitment to myself to be a part of life. I wanted to leave the horrible areas of my past well and truly behind.

In 2005 I fell ill with Myalgic Encephalomyelitis. It’s a debilitating neuro-immune disease. Recovery is rare, I don’t believe there is full recovery, but almost-recovery does happen. I feel I’m on the verge of saying I am in recovery, but I don’t want to jinx myself. The point is, when I fell ill I was bed bound. I couldn’t eat, I couldn’t sleep, I couldn’t think properly, I couldn’t function properly, and I was reliant on others.

I lost myself in the illness and last year was finally the time when I could spend finding myself. Last year was my year to work on recovery. I’m still working on it, I still have a ways to go, but I am far more reliant on myself than others, I can sleep, I can eat, I can think for myself, and I can function.

Holiday Season

I had family come to visit in December through to early January. My eldest brother lives in the UK with his wife and three children. They come to Australia for a holiday every two-three years.

Me during the Brickpit Walk

Me during the Brickpit Walk

One of my cousins lives in the UK as well, with her husband, and I wasn’t able to see her when she visited last because of illness.

They all came during the holiday season so, as you can imagine, I planned to see them a whole bunch of times. It didn’t work out that way. Being a teacher means my partner is off for a few weeks over the holiday period and I’m hoping to be employed come next month (I’m currently on disability) so we made the most of it. It was also the first holidays where I was in recovery. Each other year, no matter how well I thought I was doing, I’d crash and burn.

In the end of December I went trail-riding, checked out the Brickpit Ring Walk, rode my bike a bunch, spent time with my family, and I can’t remember much else because January happened all of a sudden and has shit been cray since (I can’t believe I just used the word cray. Cray-cray?).

2014 So Far

I began January with a 5am wake-up, a quick jump in the shower, and a drive to the airport. Yep! My first trip on a plane in twenty-one years (my first trip anywhere since 2004) and I went to Melbourne! I was born in Melbourne, but hadn’t been there since I was a kid.

I don’t want to write an essay so I’m going to give you the shortened version.

In Melbourne I went to the Old Melbourne Goal twice (for the Hangman’s Tour, to be locked in

It's a Tram. A free tram.

It’s a Tram. A free tram.

a cell in the Watchouse, and just for kicks), I rode a bunch of trams, ate at Lord of the Fries for the first time, walked all over the city, checked out the art lanes, went on an awesome bike tour with Freddy’s Bike Tours (you must do a bike tour with Freddy if you go to Melbourne), visited the Eureka Skydeck (keep in mind I have a phobia of heights), caught up with family I hadn’t seen since I was a kid, checked out the shops and bought an awesome wooden watch, fell in love with dumplings (at Shanghai Village – GO THERE), had lunch in Federation Square, checked out the National Gallery of Victoria, had breakfast in one of the lanes, took part in a magic trick, played arcade games… came back home after four days to have dinner with a friend. Then woke up early the next day and spent almost eight hours cleaning out the garage. I’m insane.

I feel like I’m missing some things. Oh well! I did a lot. That’s my point.

Since then I’ve caught up with my cousin, babysat for my brother and his wife, begun plans to go to Europe by the end of the year, joined an agency to help the disabled look for work, read several books, gone canoing and in a row boat, had root canal therapy, been to a WotLA meeting (writer’s group), gone bowling, played Laser tag for the first time, played more arcade games, visited my family for birthdays, walked around the city a bunch, went on a coffee crawl with WotLA peeps, had driving lessons, saw The Lion King at the Capitol Theatre, went ice-skating, had an appointment with my D’s Educator, seen my GP a few times, begun my wake-up-at-the-crack-of-dawn-to-exercise routine, gone to the beach (jumped off a pier, which was scary as), played putt-putt, finally learnt how to pedal standing up (I’m uncoordinated and chicken-shit), seen Life of Pi at an open-air movie, seen 47 Ronin, watched The Wolf of Wall Street in Gold Class, helped my partner clean up her work desk and organise her class room, went to my first Japanese restaurant (I want to live there until I’ve eaten everything)…

Ok, I have to stop it there. Gotta go vacuum clean before I go to the gym because I’m mad fit. Hahaha! Yeah… Anyway, so I’ve been busy. Do you think I’ve gotten any writing done in this time? No, of course not.

Author: Bonnie

Between a blogging addiction, hosting reading challenges, reviewing, writing novels, and overcoming a neuro-immune disease, Bonnie attempts to do as many awesome things as she can and has a good dose of daily bunny cuddles. She resides in Western Sydney with her rabbit, Winston.

Leave a Reply

