Bonnie Sparks Writes

…fiction and discusses editing, writing, mental illness, chronic conditions, bunnies, food, fitness, and geeky topics.

My Reading Journal for 2013

Leave a comment

You know what I haven’t done yet? My wrap-up/reading journal post for 2013. I don’t really feel it’s necessary anymore, for some reason, but I just have to do it. If I don’t I feel like I’m going to be breaking some sort of code or half-arsed routine.

So, challenges I took part in and what I’ve read. I didn’t exactly read what I had planned, but I’ve finally accepted that’s the way of things. I’m happy with my reading achievements now. It doesn’t matter if I’ve read twenty-five books or one-hundred and twenty, I’m reading aren’t I? My purpose of reading challenges and reading journal is to keep a record and have fun with it.

The Off the Shelf! Challenge 2013

I would have liked to reach five books, but I knew I wouldn’t. Not when I’m reading for review and hardly reading any books on my own shelves. Maybe one day I’ll get through all the unread books on my shelves, but for now… meh.

  1. Indigo Awakening by Jordan Dane
  2. Darkness of Morning by Samantha Boyette
  3. Florence by Ciye Cho
  4. When I Woke up I Knew I Was Dead by N. Primak

The Go Indie Challenge 2013

I did well with Go Indie! It was funny, but sad, because I was the only one submitting reviews for the challenge. Oh.

  1. Darkness of Morning by Samantha Boyette
  2. Florence by Ciye Cho
  3. Bloodlight: The Apocalypse of Robert Goldner by Harambee K. Grey-Sun
  4. Love Gone Mad by Mark Rubinstein
  5. God Loves Hair by Vivek Shraya
  6. 25 Perfect Days by Mark Tullius
  7. When I Woke up I Knew I Was Dead by N. Primak
  8. Arabelle’s Shadows by Fleur Gaskin
  9. All for Owen by Clint Stoker

 The Free Reads Challenge 2013

You’re going to exceed expectations when you’re doing a challenge that includes ARCs and review requests, aren’t you? Yes. I didn’t have expectations though, but knew I’d kill Free Reads. I don’t know why, seeing as I’ve been doing requests for several years now, but I was surprised at the rate I smashed it. Am I gloating? I think I might be gloating.

  1. Indigo Awakening by Jordan Dane
  2. Darkness of Morning by Samantha Boyette
  3. Florence by Ciye Choe
  4. Love With a Chance of Drowning by Torre DeRoche
  5. Broken by Megan Hart
  6. Star Wench by Anna Anthropy
  7. One Step Too Far by Tina Seskis
  8. After the Ending by Lindsey Fairleigh and Lindsey Pogue
  9. The Tale of Raw Head and Bloody Bones by Jack Wolf
  10. The Art of Bioshock Infinite by Irrational Games
  11. Twerp by Mark Goldblatt
  12. Dark Horse by Honey Brown
  13. The Eternity Cure by Julie Kagawa
  14. Bloodlight: The Apocalypse of Robert Goldner by Harambee K. Grey-Sun
  15. Ink by Amanda Sun
  16. The Local Wildlife by Robert Drewe
  17. Love Gone Mad by Mark Rubinstein
  18. 25 Perfect Days by Mark Tullius
  19. Tampa by Alissa Nutting
  20. When I Woke up I Knew I Was Dead by N. Primak
  21. The Companions by R.A. Salvatore
  22. The Rag Issue #5
  23. Street Player: My Chicago Story by Danny Seraphine
  24. Arabelle’s Shadows by Fleur Gaskin
  25. PostApoc by Liz Worth
  26. Meridian by Terra Whiteman
  27. All for Owen by Clint Stoker
  28. Evil and the Mask by Fuminori Nakamura
  29. The Mourning Hours by Paula Treick DeBoard
  30. The Returned by Jason Mott

The Dystopia Challenge 2013

I honestly thought I’d read more dystopia. Maybe I’m getting over it? No, surely not. I write the genre and I’m always thinking of dystopian scenarios. A few lame dystopian books and YA dystopian isn’t going to turn me off.

  1. After the Ending by Lindsey Fairleigh and Lindsey Pogue
  2. The Eternity Cure by Julie Kagawa
  3. 25 Perfect Days by Mark Tullius
  4. PostApoc by Liz Worth
  5. Meridian by Terra Whiteman
  6. All for Owen by Clint Stoker

The Get Steampunk’d Challenge 2013

While I’ve accepted my reading plans aren’t going to turn out the way I’d planned for, I’m still embarrassed I didn’t read anything for the Get Steampunk’d Challenge. It’s one thing to not finish it, which has been the case for awhile, but to not read anything for it? I think I just have to accept the fact I’m not a fan of Steampunk fiction.

The What’s in a Name 6 Challenge 2013

This is one of my favourite challenges! I love how it isn’t exactly the same each and every year. I’m sad when I finish the challenge though, it makes me want to do it several times in one year, but I enjoy doing it anyway.

This is the first year I didn’t finish it. I rarely go out of my way to buy books now. I can’t handle lack of space and I have issues with being excessive (in that, buying a bunch of new books all the time when you have over two-hundred on your TBR already is excessive). I couldn’t find a book to suit party or celebration out of my books. Maybe I need happier books.

  1. A book with up or down (or equivalent) in the title: One Step Too Far by Tina Seskis
  2. A book with something you’d find in your kitchen in the title: The Tale of Raw Head and Bloody Bones by Jack Wolf
  3. A book with a party or celebration in the title:
  4. A book with fire (or equivalent) in the title: Bloodlight: The Apocalypse of Robert Goldner by Harambee K. Grey-Sun
  5. A book with an emotion in the title: Love With a Chance of Drowning by Torre DeRoche
  6. A book with lost or found (or equivalent) in the title: Indigo Awakening by Jordan Dane

The LGBT Challenge (can be authors, subject, or characters)

Nailed it! Usually I aim for two to three, but last year I aimed for five. I didn’t think I’d hit the five let alone hit it and go over so I’m happy as.

  1. Darkness of Morning by Samantha Boyette
  2. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
  3. Star Wench by Anna Anthropy
  4. The Tale of Raw Head and Bloody Bones by Jack Wolf
  5. Bloodlight: The Apocalypse of Robert Goldner by Harambee K. Grey-Sun
  6. God Loves Hair by Vivek Shraya
  7. Arabelle’s Shadows by Fleur Gaskin

What’s Been Read, Just In a List;

Here’s the list with links if you want to see it all in one go or read reviews.

*all reviews posted on Bookish Ardour
  1. Indigo Awakening by Jordan Dane
  2. Darkness of Morning by Samantha Boyette
  3. Florence by Ciye Choe
  4. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
  5. Love With a Chance of Drowning by Torre DeRoche
  6. Broken by Megan Hart
  7. Star Wench by Anna Anthropy
  8. One Step Too Far by Tina Seskis
  9. After the Ending by Lindsey Fairleigh and Lindsey Pogue
  10. The Tale of Raw Head and Bloody Bones by Jack Wolf
  11. The Art of Bioshock Infinite by Irrational Games
  12. Twerp by Mark Goldblatt
  13. Dark Horse by Honey Brown
  14. The Eternity Cure by Julie Kagawa
  15. Bloodlight: The Apocalypse of Robert Goldner by Harambee K. Grey-Sun
  16. Ink by Amanda Sun
  17. The Local Wildlife by Robert Drewe
  18. Love Gone Mad by Mark Rubinstein
  19. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
  20. God Loves Hair by Vivek Shraya
  21. 25 Perfect Days by Mark Tullius
  22. Tampa by Alissa Nutting
  23. When I Woke up I Knew I Was Dead by N. Primak
  24. The Companions by R.A. Salvatore
  25. The Rag Issue #5
  26. Street Player: My Chicago Story by Danny Seraphine
  27. American-Born Chinese by Gene Luen Yang
  28. PostApoc by Liz Worth
  29. The Night Bookmobile by Audrey Niffenegger
  30. Arabelle’s Shadows by Fleur Gaskin
  31. Odd is on our Side by Dean Koontz
  32. Meridian by Terra Whiteman
  33. Owly Vol. 1: The Way Home & The Bittersweet Summer by Andy Runton
  34. Anne Frank: The Anne Frank House Authoriesed Graphic Biography by Sid Jacobson and Ernie Colón
  35. All for Owen by Clint Stoker
  36. Evil and the Mask by Fuminori Nakamura
  37. The Mourning Hours by Paula Treick DeBoard
  38. The Returned by Jason Mott

Author: Bonnie

Between a blogging addiction, hosting reading challenges, reviewing, writing novels, and overcoming a neuro-immune disease, Bonnie attempts to do as many awesome things as she can and has a good dose of daily bunny cuddles. She resides in Western Sydney with her rabbit, Winston.

Leave a Reply

